Password Protected Messages Intro (formerly Question and Answer - Q&A)
Last modified on 25 March 2020 06:35 PM

By allowing you to encrypt email using a password known only to you and your recipient(s), Password-Protected Messages (PPMs) are an easy way to securely communicate with people who don't have a StartMail account or a PGP key.

Here's an outline of how it works, with specific steps below:

  • Compose an email
  • Create a password that your recipient(s) will use to access that email. (We recommend sending this password through another method besides email)
  • Your recipient(s) will then receive an email containing a link
  • After clicking on the link, they will be asked to enter the password you created, which will allow them to securely read the email you sent

Follow these steps to use PPMs:

  • Compose an email and click Encrypt




  • Click Send encrypted




  • Fill out "Encrypt with a password" form. One you are finished, click Send encrypted
    • Recipient: Your recipient(s)
    • Password: Create a password that only you and your recipients(s) will know. The recipient will use this password to access your message.
    • Personal message: This will appear in the recipient's inbox unencrypted. It's a good place to send a hint or to let them know where to locate the password
    • Email Notification language: English or German




      Note: If you chose to sign your outgoing message using your digital signature, you will be prompted to enter your PGP passphrase prior to sending:




  • Here is what your recipient will receive. They can click View message to enter password and read the email you sent.



    They will be able to read your email once they enter the password you have set. We recommend sending this password through another method besides email.

    Recipients can access your message for 28 days.

Note: Q&A messages sent from our classic interface (startmail.com) will link to our classic interface, and PPMs sent from our new interface (mail.startmail.com) will link to our new interface. Thus, clicking on the "View message" link will take the recipient to our new interface.

(18 vote(s))
This article was helpful
This article was not helpful

Still haven't found the answer to your question? Click here to contact support.